Ryan Cairns Column: Unwavering torch of passion

In the hallowed grounds of golf, where the echoes of victories past mingle with the whispers of legends, there exists a timeless bond that transcends boundaries and unites players in the pursuit of excellence.

As I wander through the memories of columns gone by, I am reminded of the indomitable spirit of the Olympics – a beacon of unity, strength and unwavering passion that ignites the heart of every competitor.

At one point in time, I was on the outside looking in during golf’s return to the Olympics at the Rio Games. The qualifying criteria were different at the time, to the point where even as a journeyman pro, I found myself on the brink of an Olympic debut. The call from the sports ministry never came, but the flame had been lit in all of us who tuned in to witness the rebirth of what is now one of the greatest accolades in the game.

The memories of a life and career gone by took me all the way back to a sun-drenched morning at the historic St Andrews links, where the ancient spirits of the game dance in harmony with the modern-day champions.

Here, amidst the rolling greens and salt-kissed air, I witnessed a symphony of skill and determination that mirrored the Olympic ethos – a relentless pursuit of greatness, tempered by respect for the traditions that bind us all, as dozens of us Junior Open competitors that week bore witness to Tiger’s record winning margin in 2000 from inside the ropes. Our own camaraderie from that experience of wearing matching shirts and being ushered around by officials has lived on, in friendships to the present day.